Nurse Talking to Patient

Study design

The project

roue_projet_seul.png

The Biobanque québécoise de la COVID-19 (BQC 19) is a prospective, observational, case-control and multicentre cohort study carried out at 10 test sites in Quebec. All BQC19 sites adhere to the Management Framework, procedures manual and Standard Operating Procedures that have been developed for the study.

 

The project has adjusted to new conditions as the pandemic situation has evolved in Quebec. So, while in April of 2020 the participants recruited by the sites were individuals who had been hospitalized due to severe illness, as of May of 2020 the project began to include patients who were moderately affected or asymptomatic. Participants have been recruited to the BQC19 from each succeeding pandemic wave that has manifested itself in Quebec.

The BQC19’s mission is to contribute to research that aims to identify the clinical and molecular determinants for susceptibility to, severity of and consequences of COVID-19.

 

In each participant visit, complete clinical data is harvested, as well as samples, where appropriate.

The cohort

 

The BQC19 cohort includes participants who have been hospitalized with moderate to severe illness, as well as participants with mild illness or who are asymptomatic, all infected with SARS-CoV-2 (cases). It also includes participants who have not been infected with SARS-CoV-2 (control subjects). For all participants, the classification is based on the result of a PCR test.

 

The cohort also has a pediatric sub-population recruited according to the criteria used in the study Biobanque d’échantillons et de données pour la recherche sur les maladies respiratoires pédiatriques (A biobank of samples and data for research into pediatric respiratory illnesses) conducted by Dr. Sze Man Tse (pediatrician at CHU Sainte-Justine).

CohortProject EN 29SEP2022.PNG

As of November 5, 2021, more than 3,400 participants had been recruited. For more information on the BQC19’s cohort as a whole, see "BQC19 in numbers".

covid severity_EN_13NOV2021.png

Mild illness / asymptomatic

This population is recruited in outpatient clinics or post-COVID clinics. It includes participants who have experienced mild illness or who have been asymptomatic. Some of these individuals present post-COVID symptoms.

Five sites recruit this population.

Severe illness

This population is sought out in hospital settings. It includes participants who needed to be hospitalized due to COVID-19. These individuals were recruited during a stay in a COVID unit or in intensive care, in accordance with the BQC19’s procedures manual.

The BQC19 recruits this population at 10 sites.

Control population

The BQC19 also recruits a control population of individuals who have not had COVID-19. This control population includes participants who have been hospitalized (either in a COVID unit or intensive care) and participants who have not been hospitalized but who present symptoms resembling those of COVID-19, yet were declared negative for SARS-CoV-2 subsequent to a PCR test.

The BQC19 recruits this population at 10 sites.

Pediatric/obstetrical population

The BQC19 also includes a sub-population of pediatric participants, and some patients who are pregnant. This cohort is quite limited since, up to this point, the pandemic has not affected children to a great extent.

These participants are mainly recruited at CHU Sainte-Justine.

Study design

The BQC19 collects samples and clinical data through the duration of follow-up with the participant. However, in some cases, samples could not be collected, due to particular clinical conditions, or health measures that were then in effect. In these situations, priority was thus given to the collection of data, even if no associated sample could be collected.

 

Hospitalization – severely ill participants

web_hospitalisation_EN.png

The initial identification of participants was carried out in collaboration with clinical teams in the hospital settings. An alert was sent to the BQC19 teams noting the arrival of a patient who had undergone a PCR screening test for SARS-CoV-2.  Subsequently, the participant, or their legal representative, was contacted by phone or by videoconference and asked to be involved in the study.

 

Once the participant was enrolled, in-hospital tracking could begin. The samples collected by the BQC19 were taken during the sampling that was part of the patient’s regular care. "Hospital visits" occurred on the day of recruitment (Day 0), Day 2 and Day 7. It was only when the Management Framework was updated in June of 2020 that Day 14 and Day 30 follow-ups were added. Therefore, BQC19 has very few instances of 30-day monitoring for participants from the first COVID wave. Follow-ups were carried out on the day specified in the project, so long as the participant remained in hospital.

Longitudinal study - participants with severe illness

Patients who have been enrolled while in a hospital setting may also consent to a follow-up during the two years after their discharge.  Follow-up visits occur 1, 3, 6, 12, 18 and 24 months following the departure from hospital.  These follow-ups are carried out at the prescribed date when possible, but the epidemiological situation may prevent them from occurring in the desired time period.

 

We have observed a natural attrition in the number of participants being followed, due to mortality and sometimes attributable to difficulties in reaching participants living in certain care settings (RPA, CHSLD).

suivi longitudinaux_EN.png

Longitudinal study - participants with mild illness / asymptomatic

The BQC19 also includes a cohort of participants who did not require hospital services. This cohort reflected the pandemic’s evolution in the spring of 2020, where it was observed that a segment of the population infected with SARS-CoV-2 developed few or no symptoms. This cohort was added in May of 2020.

 

The timing of visits is the same as for hospitalized patients, with the exception of the sampling on Day 0. For this cohort, follow-ups begin a month after the SARS-CoV-2 PCR screening test. The cohort has participants who have received either positive or negative tests for SARS-CoV-2.

Nurse Talking to Patient

Design de l'étude

Le projet

roue_projet_seul.png

La Biobanque québécoise de la COVID-19 est une étude de cohorte prospective, observationnelle, cas-témoins, multicentrique qui inclut dix sites localisés au Québec. Tous les sites de la BQC19 se conforment au cadre de gestion, au manuel des procédures ainsi qu’aux procédures normalisées qui ont été établis pour l’étude.

Le projet s’est adapté à l’évolution de la situation épidémique au Québec. Ainsi, alors qu’en avril 2020, la population recrutée par les sites était constituée de participants hospitalisés avec une maladie sévère, dès mai 2020 le projet a commencé à inclure des patients avec une maladie peu sévère / asymptomatique. Des participants ont été recrutés à la BQC19 dans toutes les vagues pandémiques observées au Québec jusqu’à ce jour.

La mission de la BQC19 est de contribuer à la recherche visant à identifier les déterminants cliniques et moléculaires de la susceptibilité, de la sévérité et des conséquences de la COVID-19.

 

Lors de chaque visite des participants, des données cliniques complètes sont recueillies ainsi que des échantillons, le cas échéant.

La cohorte

 

La cohorte de la BQC19 inclut des participants hospitalisés avec maladie modérée à sévère ainsi que des participants avec maladie peu sévère ou asymptomatique, infectés par le SRAS-CoV-2 (cas). Elle inclut aussi des participants qui n’ont pas été infectés par le SRAS-CoV-2 (témoins). Dans tous les cas la classification cas ou témoins est basée sur un test PCR.

La cohorte comporte également une sous-population pédiatrique qui est recrutée selon les critères de l’étude « Biobanque d’échantillons et de données pour la recherche sur les maladies respiratoires pédiatriques » de la Dre Sze Man Tse (pédiatre au CHU Sainte-Justine).

17Juillet2022.JPG

En date du 5 novembre 2021, plus de 3400 participants ont été recrutés.  Pour plus d’informations sur la cohorte complète de la BQC19, consulter la page « BQC19 en chiffres ».

covid severity_fr_13NOV2021.png

Maladie peu sévère / asymptomatique

Cette population est recrutée en clinique externe ou en clinique post-COVID. Elle inclut des participants qui ont eu une maladie peu sévère ou asymptomatique. Certains de ces participants ont des symptômes d’affection post-COVID.

Cinq sites recrutent cette population.

Maladie sévère

Cette population est recrutée en milieu hospitalier. Elle inclut les participants qui ont dû être hospitalisés pour la COVID-19. Ceux-ci ont été recrutés lors d’un séjour dans une unité COVID ou aux soins intensifs suivant le manuel des procédures de la BQC19.

La BQC19 inclut 10 sites qui recrutent cette population.

Population témoin

Une population témoin qui n’a pas eu la COVID-19 est également recrutée. Cette population témoin inclut des participants qui ont été hospitalisés (tant en unité COVID qu’aux soins intensifs) et des participants non hospitalisés, ayant présenté des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la COVID-19 mais ayant été déclarés négatifs au SRAS-CoV-2 par test PCR.

 

Dix sites recrutent cette population.

Population pédiatrique / obstétrique

La BQC19 inclut aussi une sous-population de participants pédiatriques et quelques patientes enceintes. Cette cohorte est extrêmement limitée car la pandémie a peu touché les enfants jusqu’à présent.

Ces participants sont principalement recrutés au CHU-Sainte-Justine.

Le design de l'étude

La BQC19 recueille des échantillons et des données cliniques tout au long des suivis. Cependant, dans certain cas, la collecte de prélèvements n’a pu être faite à la suite de conditions cliniques particulières des participants ou des mesures sanitaires en place. Il a donc été privilégié dans ces conditions de collecter les données qui étaient associées à ces visites même si aucun échantillon ne leur était associé.

 

Hospitalisation – participant avec maladie sévère

web_hospitalisation_FR.png

L’identification initiale des participants est faite en collaboration avec les équipes cliniques des milieux hospitaliers. Cette identification se fait par une alerte aux équipes de la BQC19 de l’arrivée d’un patient ayant réalisé un test de dépistage PCR au SRAS-CoV-2.  Par la suite le participant, ou son représentant légal, est contacté par téléphone ou vidéoconférence pour lui proposer sa participation au projet.

 

Une fois le participant enrôlé, le suivi hospitalier peut débuter. Les prélèvements pour la BQC19 sont effectués à l’occasion des prélèvements requis pour les soins standards du participant. Les visites « hospitalières » sont faites au jour du recrutement (jour 0), au jour 2 et au jour 7. Ce n’est que lors de la mise à jour du cadre de gestion en juin 2020 que l’ajout de suivis au jour 14 et 30 a été fait. De ce fait, la BQC19 a peu de suivis de 30 jours pour les participants de la première vague. Les suivis ont été effectués au jour prévu au projet tant que le participant demeurait à l’hôpital.

Suivi longitudinal - participant avec maladie sévère

Les participants qui ont été enrôlés en milieu hospitalier peuvent consentir à un suivi de deux ans après leur congé. Les visites de suivi seront effectuées à 1, 3, 6, 12, 18 et 24 mois suivant la sortie de l’hôpital.  Les suivis se font autant que possible au temps demandé mais que la situation épidémiologique ne permet pas toujours que le suivi soit fait dans le délai prescrit.

 

On note une attrition naturelle du nombre de participants suivis qui est due aux décès et parfois à une difficulté à rejoindre les participants qui étaient dans certains milieux de soins (RPA, CHSLD).

suivi longitudinaux_FR_08nov2021.png

Suivi longitudinal - participant avec maladie peu sévère / asymptomatique

La BQC19 inclut aussi une cohorte de participants qui n’ont pas eu à utiliser les services hospitaliers. Cette cohorte répondait à l’évolution de la pandémie au printemps 2020 où il avait été remarqué qu’une portion de la population qui était infectée par le SRAS-CoV-2 ne développait pas ou peu de symptômes. L’ajout de cette cohorte a débuté au mois de mai 2020.

 

Les visites de suivis sont les mêmes que pour les participants hospitalisés, à l’exception du prélèvement au jour 0. Pour cette cohorte, les suivis débutent un mois après le test de dépistage PCR du SRAS-Cov-2. La cohorte comporte des participants ayant reçu un résultat positif ou négatif à au SRAS-CoV-2.