Scientist on Computer

Analyses de base

The BQC19 performs a series of core analyses on its samples.

These analyses provide researchers with multi-omics experimental data that are generated on a large set of samples, all using the same protocols. This approach fosters cutting-edge research on the biological determinants of COVID-19. In addition, this approach slows down any rapid depletion of collected biological samples by avoiding redundancy of baseline analyses. The results of these baseline analyses can be obtained by filing a BQC19 data access request.

The core analyses include the following:

  • Two types of proteomics;

  • Metabolomics;

  • Immuno-serology;

  • Transcriptomics;

  • Genomics;

  • Clinical laboratory analyses performed on the ROCHE platform.

 

Sample selection

 

Sample selection is based on the following criteria, corresponding to a wide range of severity and clinical presentation:

  1. Hospitalized SARS-CoV-2-positive participants with critical illness.

  2. Hospitalized SARS-CoV-2 positive participants with moderate to severe disease.

  3. SARS-CoV-2-positive participants with asymptomatic or mild disease (with or without persistent symptoms).

  4. Controls (SARS-CoV-2 negative participant).

test-tube.png

Analyses are performed on clinical specimens that were collected in the following situations:

  • Approximately 1400 samples, including from COVID positive and COVID negative participants, were collected during hospitalization, in the acute phase of the infection.

  • An additional 400 samples from hospitalized participants were collected following hospitalization, i.e., approximately 90 days after the infection date.

  • Finally, approximately 200 samples were analyzed from COVID negative and COVID positive participants who were not hospitalized, approximately 90 days after the infection date with and without persistent symptoms. 

BQC19 analyses

 
perBQCID_prelim4.png

Genome-wide sequencing and genotyping (GWAS)

dna.png

These analyses are performed on genomic DNA extracted from snap-frozen whole blood aliquots. They include identification of all genetic variants in the host genome and genetic variations such as changes in copy number of certain genes (genome-wide sequencing), as well as common genetic variations across the genome (GWAS genotyping).

 
 

Proteomics

Somalogic-Logo-Stacked_K_RGB_110520-768x497.png

SomaScan® platform

Simultaneous measurement of nearly 5,000 proteins in collected blood plasma using aptamer-based technology. This technology was chosen for the large number of proteins it can measure in a single sample.

 
protein.png

Immuno-inflammatory markers

This approach, complementary to SomaScan® above, will allow for the measurement of established markers of immuno-inflammation on plasma samples, using a very specific and sensitive technique (antibodies specific to each analyte).

Standardized Core Laboratory

ROCHE_edited.png

These baseline assays will provide standardized baseline blood tests from the Roche Diagnostics panel for all visits. This includes baseline values for liver, heart and kidney disorders, as well as standard inflammation parameters measured on plasma samples

 

Metabolomics

This large-scale metabolomics analysis (Metabolon platform) will use ultra-high-performance liquid chromatography/tandem mass spectrometry (UHPLC/MS/MS) methods. This extensive small molecule profiling includes 12 000 metabolites.

Metabolon-EnlighteningLife-300x158.png
 

Immunoserology

The generation and maintenance of virus-specific antibody responses are likely key for protective immunity against SARS-CoV-2. Andrés Finzi (CRCHUM) is carrying out the following two serological tests on BQC19 plasma samples: i) ELISA (receptor binding domain, RBD): total antibodies, IgM, IgA, IgG; ii) Cell-based ELISA (CBE) measuring antibody binding to the full-length S glycoprotein.

anticorps.png
 

The National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) will provide plaque reduction neutralizing antibody testing on plasma samples. The plaque reduction neutralization test will quantify the titer of neutralizing antibody in 2,000 BQC19 samples by measuring the number of plaques formed in host cells following mixture of a viral suspension with the plasma samples. These data will provide important information on the immune response of BQ19 participants to COVID-19.

Transcriptomics

Many studies in human viral diseases, including COVID-19, have shown associations between molecular signatures in peripheral blood cells and disease outcome. RNA is extracted from the PAXgene RNA tube collected at the same study visit as the plasma sample analyzed by the other assays and standard short-read RNA sequencing on poly-A RNAs performed on a fraction of the RNA extracted. Initial quality control will be performed at the sequencing facility.

rna.png

Scientist on Computer

Analyses de base

La BQC19 effectue une série d’analyses de ses échantillons.

Ces analyses permettent aux chercheurs d’obtenir des données expérimentales multiomiques à partir d’un vaste ensemble d’échantillons en utilisant les mêmes protocoles. Cette approche favorise la recherche de pointe sur les déterminants biologiques de la COVID-19. En outre, elle ralentit tout épuisement rapide des échantillons collectés en évitant les redondances des analyses de référence. Il est possible d’obtenir les résultats de ces analyses en déposant une demande d’accès aux données de la BQC19.

Les analyses d’échantillons englobent ce qui suit :

  • deux types d’analyses protéomiques;

  • analyses métabolomiques;

  • analyses immunosérologiques;

  • analyses transcriptomiques;

  • analyses génomiques;

  • analyses de laboratoire cliniques réalisées sur la plateforme de ROCHE.

 

La sélection des échantillons

 

La sélection des échantillons repose sur les critères suivants en fonction du degré de gravité de la maladie et de nombreuses présentations cliniques :

  1. Participants hospitalisés séropositifs au virus SARS-CoV-2, présentant une maladie grave.

  2. Participants hospitalisés séropositifs au virus SARS-CoV-2, atteints de la maladie aux stades modéré à grave.

  3. Participants séropositifs au virus SARS-CoV-2, atteints d’une maladie asymptomatique ou légère (avec ou sans symptômes persistants).

  4. Témoins (participants séronégatifs au virus SARS-CoV-2).

test-tube.png

Les analyses sont effectuées sur des spécimens cliniques qui ont été collectés dans les situations suivantes :

  • Environ 1400 échantillons, de cas COVID positifs et COVID négatifs, ont été collectés pendant l'hospitalisation, dans la phase aiguë de l'infection.

  • Quatre cents autres échantillons provenant de participants hospitalisés ont été recueillis après l'hospitalisation, soit environ 90 jours après la date de l'infection.

  • Enfin, environ 200 échantillons ont été analysés à partir de participants COVID négatifs et COVID positifs qui n'ont pas été hospitalisés, environ 90 jours après la date d'infection, avec et sans symptômes persistants.  Enfin, environ 2 échantillons ont été analysés chez les participants COVID négatifs et COVID positifs qui n'ont pas été hospitalisés, environ 90 jours après la date d'infection, avec et sans symptômes persistants. 

Les analyses de base de la BQC19

 
perBQCID_prelim4.png

Séquençage pangénomique et génotypage (GWAS) du génome de l’hôte

dna.png

Ces analyses sont réalisées sur l’ADN génomique extrait d’aliquotes de sang total surgelées. Elles comprennent l’identification de toutes les variantes génétiques dans le génome hôte et les variations génétiques, notamment les modifications du nombre de copies de certains gènes (séquençage pangénomique) de même que les variations génétiques communes à l’ensemble du génome (génotypage GWAS).

 
 

Protéomique

Somalogic-Logo-Stacked_K_RGB_110520-768x497.png

Somascan

Mesure simultanée de près de 5 000 protéines dans le plasma sanguin collecté grâce à une technologie à base d’aptamères. Cette technologie a été choisie en raison du grand nombre de protéines qu’elle peut mesurer dans un seul échantillon.

 
protein.png

Marqueurs immuno-inflammation

Cette approche, complémentaire à la plateforme SomaScan® décrite ci-dessus, permettra de mesurer les marqueurs immuno-inflammatoires reconnus sur des échantillons de plasma à l’aide d’une technique sensible et précise (anticorps spécifiques à chaque analyte).

Laboratoire central normalisé

ROCHE_edited.png

Ces analyses de base fourniront des tests sanguins normalisés mis au point par le panel Roche Diagnostics pour toutes les visites. Cela comprend les valeurs de base pour les troubles hépatiques, cardiaques et rénaux de même que les paramètres standard de l’inflammation mesurés sur les échantillons de plasma.

 

Métobolomique

Cette analyse métabolomique à grande échelle (plateforme Metabolon) utilisera des méthodes de chomotographie en phase liquide de très haute performance avec spectrométrie de masse en tandem (HPCL/SM/SM). Ce vaste profilage de molécules comprend 12 000 métabolites.

Metabolon-EnlighteningLife-300x158.png
 

Immuno-sérologie

Le fait de produire et de maintenir les réactions aux anticorps spécifiques au virus est vraisemblablement la clé de l’immunité protectrice contre le SARS-CoV-2. Andrés Finzi (CRCHUM) procède actuellement aux deux épreuves sérologiques suivantes sur des échantillons de plasma de la BQC19 : i) ELISA (domaine de liaison au récepteur, DLR): anticorps totaux, IgM, IgA, IgG; ii) ELISA à base cellulaire (EBC) mesurant la liaison des anticorps à la glycoprotéine (S) pleine longueur.

anticorps.png
 

Le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) effectuera des tests de séroneutralisation sur des échantillons de plasma. Ces tests visent à quantifier les titres d'anticorps neutralisants dans 2 000 échantillons BQC19 en mesurant le nombre de plages formées dans des cellules hôtes après ajout d'une suspension virale aux échantillons de plasma. Ces données apporteront des informations importantes sur la réponse immunitaire des patients BQC19 atteints de COVID-19.

Transcriptomique

De nombreuses études sur les maladies humaines d’origine virale, dont la COVID-19, ont établi des liens entre les signatures moléculaires dans les cellules du sang périphérique et l’issue de la maladie. L’ARN est extrait du tube PAXgene RNA, collecté lors de la même visite d’étude que celle de l’échantillon du plasma analysé par les autres tests et par le séquençage standard d’ARN à lecture courte sur les ARN poly-A effectué sur une fraction de l’ARN extrait. On réalisera le contrôle initial de la qualité dans l’installation de séquençage.

rna.png